jump to navigation

NSBP members awarded National Medals by President Obama February 3, 2013

Posted by admin in : Uncategorized , trackback Bookmark and Share

In a White House ceremony Sylvester James Gates and George Robert Carruthers were awarded the National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology and Innovation, respectively.  These awards are amongst the top honors that US bestows upon scientists and engineers.

Gates is known for his work on supersymmetry, supergravity, and superstring theory.  He is currently the John S. Toll Professor of Physics at the University of Maryland, College Park, a University of Maryland Regents Professor and currently serves on the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology and the Maryland State Board of Education.

Carruthers is an astrophysicist at the Naval Research Lab.  He first gained international recognition for his on ultraviolet observations of the earth’s upper atmosphere and of astronomical phenomena.  But he is perhaps best known for his work with the spectrograph that showed incontrovertible proof that molecular hydrogen exists in the interstellar medium.








Bookmark and Share


no comments yet - be the first?